NetApp
System Manager : Understanding System Manager : Credential caching

Credential caching
You can cache (save) your storage system server login and password information for future System Manager sessions.
By default, credential caching in System Manager is turned off. This means that any system credentials that you provide are not saved to the user settings file and are available only during the current session. When you exit System Manager, all of the credentials set in the previous session are no longer available.
After you enable the credential caching option, all storage system credentials are encrypted and saved to the user settings file. When you update storage system credential information, the user settings file is updated and saved. If System Manager shuts down unexpectedly, the saved credentials are available the next time you start System Manager. If you clear the credential caching option, all of the encrypted credentials are immediately erased from the user settings file.